Computational Logic


Roy Dyckhoff headed the research activity at St Andrews in computational logic. He is now (since 2011) retired, and thus is no longer inviting PhD applications; but continues as an active researcher. His and his students' (and research colleagues') work included the development of proof assistants and theorem-provers for various logics, the exploitation of various logics for problem specification or as programming languages, and the investigation of their proof theory and semantics.


SImPL EC grant (April 2010 -- March 2012) (held by Vladimir Komendantsky)

Computational Logic in Artificial Neural Networks EPSRC grant (Oct 2008 -- Sept 2011) (held by Ekaterina Komendantskaya)

Proof Theory and Constraint Satisfaction EPSRC grant (Jan--May 2008) for collaboration with James Caldwell and Ian Gent

Lexicalized Proof-Theoretic Semantics of Natural Language EPSRC grant (Feb--August 2007) for collaboration with Nissim Francez and James McKinna

Embounded: Automatic Resource Prediction for Embedded Systems Esprit Framework 6 grant (June 2005 -- Feb 2009) for collaboration with Kevin Hammond, Greg Michaelson, Martin Hofmann et al.

Logic Structures for Control EPSRC grant (2004--2007) for collaboration with Ursula Martin

Former Members

Andrew Adams, Marta Bilkova, Muffy Calder, James Caldwell, Peter Chapman, Hans van Ditmarsch, Nissim Francez, Paul Gerrard, Taher Tawfek Hamza, Jacob Howe, Ruth Hardy (now Ruth Letham), Ekaterina Komendantskaya, Vladimir Komendantsky, Jael Kriener, Stéphane Lengrand, Neil Leslie, Thomas Peillon, James McKinna, Luis Pinto, Robert Rothenberg, Christian Urban

Prof. Muffy Calder is, from March 1 2012, Chief Scientific Adviser for Scotland .

Research Collaboration:


Sara Negri (at Helsinki)
Stéphane Lengrand (at the École Polytechnique, France)
Mehrnoosh Sadrzadeh (at QMUL)


Delia Kesner at Paris VII (PPS)
Stephen Read, Arché Research Centre, St Andrews
Giovanna Corsi at ISA Bologna
James McKinna, Nijmegen
Computational Logic Network: "COLOGNET"
IAM, University of Bern
Nissim Francez at Technion, Haifa
James Caldwell at Wyoming
Kai-Uwe Kühnberger at Osnabrück
Proof Theory Group (Dresden University of Technology) (picture)
Dependable Continuous Mathematics for Critical Systems
NETCA (UK Computer Algebra Network)
Embounded project

Publications and Talks:

Publications; Talks.

Logic Software:

Click here


Valid HTML 4.01!